How to monitor resource usage?

Hi all :slight_smile:
I’m running data analysis using pyspark through SWAN notebooks and I’d like to “profile” my application so to see where I can improve and whether I could do so by just changing the initial configuration of my spark session.
I am aware of the spark monitoring display extension but I’m not sure it fits the purpose (or at least it is not clear to me where to read that information, see example screen below).

If anyone has suggestions on that it would be much appreciated :smiley:
Thanks in advance,
Luca

Hi Luca,

Can you share the notebook with me to understand the workload better.

Regards
Krishnan

1 Like

Hi @krraghav,
I prepared a simplified but complete version of my application: CERNBox
I basically moved all utils in one notebook in the hope it runs also for other people. I tried to add relevant comments throughout the script in case it may help.
Anyway, I have to say I’m a beginner with spark so I guess some choices may be arguable (e.g. when/how to cache/uncache dataframe to speed up computations, more efficient aggregations, if/how parallelize code, …), so feel free to comment whatever you want. Any suggestion is more than welcome! :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance,
Luca

Hi Luca,

Regarding monitoring and performance, if you click on the button that shows the SparkConnector after the application has been launched, you will find a link to the Web UI ( Spark History Server is available here ). From the UI you can see what the different jobs are doing. From there, for example, I could see that a lot of the time is spent in the initial KMeans stages: lots of jobs with this in the stacktrace:

org.apache.spark.mllib.clustering.KMeans.initKMeansParallel(KMeans.scala:387)
org.apache.spark.mllib.clustering.KMeans.runAlgorithmWithWeight(KMeans.scala:257)
org.apache.spark.mllib.clustering.KMeans.runWithWeight(KMeans.scala:231)