Npartitions in PyRDF

Dear experts,

I’m new to using Spark clusters and PyRDF on SWAN and I’m confused by the behaviour I’m seeing for setting different values for npartitions in PyRDF.use(‘spark’,{‘npartitions’:4}). I’m using 99 on CentOS 7 (gcc8) with the K8s containers, and I check all 6 configuration boxes when connecting to the spark cluster (not sure if this is necessary, but checking none of them didn’t seem to work). Here’s my minimal example code:

import PyRDF, ROOT
PyRDF.use('spark', {'npartitions':4})
#PyRDF.use('local')
df = PyRDF.RDataFrame("Events", ['https://root.cern/files/HiggsTauTauReduced/W1JetsToLNu.root','https://root.cern/files/HiggsTauTauReduced/W2JetsToLNu.root'])

df_histogram = df.Histo1D(ROOT.RDF.TH1DModel("h","h",30,0,150),"Muon_pt")

canvas = ROOT.TCanvas()
df_histogram.Draw()
canvas.Draw()

Everything works fine when npartitions is set to 4 or less. Increasing it above 4 causes the second stage of treeReduce jobs to fail.

(I’ve put the exact error message at https://nihaubri.web.cern.ch/error_message/spark.txt)
Strangely, if I simply count events (e.g. df.Count().GetValue()) instead of making and drawing a histogram, the jobs succeed with npartitions>4.

So is it possible (and encouraged) to go above 4 partitions? I’d imagine the performance increase would be necessary for analyzing datasets much larger than my example.

Thank you for the help. SWAN has been useful in my research and I’m glad to see it’s being improved still.

Best,
Nick

Dear Nick,

I already have a similar issue some time ago, and as far as I remember, this is due to the option spark.python.worker.reuse = False which is activated through the first option called “LongRunningAnalysis”. If you remove this first option when connecting the spark cluster, your snippet works even with 5 partitions.

To be honest I do not remember why this behavour, maybe Prasanth will have a clear idea on that ?